Why ignoring key sales metrics will cost you time and sales

Salesperson: “This computer will cut your workload by 50%.” 

Office Manager: “That’s great! I’ll take two of them-b2bsalesconnections.com.” 

Numbers can be fun and handy to show how reps, teams, and organizations perform against sales targets. That’s why this blog dives into crucial sales metrics that you need to track to gain insights into each stage of the sales process.  Sales data points should guide all your sales decisions and where you need to spend time and resources to boost revenue.

You have four ways to improve your sales performance: develop a sales process, hold regular sales meetings, use a CRM tool, and sales stats. Let’s jump into the sales metrics definition to help you understand the whole idea.

What are sales metrics?

Sales metrics are a set of statistics that represent an individual, team, or company’s sales performance. Sales performance metrics can help your business assess progress vs. goals, identify gaps, design training programs to fix them, etc. 

What is sales analytics? 

“Sales data analytics is the review of sales data, metrics, and trends to gain insights that can improve sales team performance, sales productivity, and sales effectiveness, help drive accurate sales forecasts, and refine the overall sales process-Clari.com.”

Sales data analytics is crucial for your organization because you can use the info to improve revenue. 

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Some people use sales metrics and sales KPIs interchangeably. But are they similar in meaning?

Sales metrics vs. KPIs

Sales metrics are data points to measure the sales results of an individual, team, or company’s activities over a specific time.

Sales KPIs (Key Performance Indicators) are metrics connected with the overall strategic company goal. For example, sales growth is a sales KPI. But raising revenue by 25% every year is a sales metric to achieve the long-term objective.

What are metrics used for?

Sales metrics have several benefits for your business. Here are examples.

Improve rep’s performance

By analyzing your sales data, you can see where your seller or team lacks. Sales stats also reveal your salesforce’s strengths. As a result, sales managers can correct wrong selling behaviors or adjust strategies to address the gaps.

Sales representatives also become accountable for their outcomes. Sales leaders can rely on the info to create data-driven sales coaching instead of using their opinions.

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Offer more insights about the sales process

Sales analytics help you understand the state of your sales team. You gain insights into your team’s sales trends, the movers, and shakers. Do deals close slower than last year? Have contract values fallen? How can you get the team back on track?

Examples of sales metrics

How do you measure sales performance? Sales metrics can help your company evaluate progress. And there are many examples of sales data points you can use. But which ones should your business choose?  Pick sales metrics that matter for your salespeople. 

Zippia.com quotes a study by Jason Jordan, Vantage Point Performance, and Sales Education Foundation. The research found that sales leaders considered over 306 metrics as necessary.

The study grouped the sales data into metrics relating to business results, sales objectives, and sales activities. 

Business result metrics represent the overall performance of your entire organization-think of total revenue. However, the researchers say sales experts can’t directly influence the company revenue. 

Sales objective metrics have to do with the specific targets you give your sales team-think of sales quotas. Again, the study insists that sellers have no direct control over these goals. That’s because customers should agree to buy products for reps to hit their quota. 

Sales activity metrics show the seller’s daily tasks. Also, managers can control this data-it’s easy to influence the metrics. Below are some examples of sales activity metrics.

sales activity metrics

Your company should zero in on what your sellers and managers can influence. Activity metrics are more crucial than all the other data. The researchers discovered that even though these businesses don’t measure their sales activity metrics, they can control them.

According to the findings, companies focused on 17% of activity metrics, 24% of business results, and 59% of business objectives. It means that sales leaders spent a lot of time managing 83 % of uncontrollable sales metrics.

What does it mean for you? It’s a waste of your time, effort, and resources to concentrate on sales data you can’t change. 

There are crucial activities leaders need to emphasize to drive sales objectives and business results. Jason Jordan on Zippia.com identifies prospecting and sales coaching as top tasks for managers.

A sales manager should spend most of their time on prospecting to raise a salesperson’s performance. You would do well to focus on activity metrics and coaching reps. It’ll lead to skyrocketing business results.

John Cheney is the CEO & Founder of Workbooks CRM. He identifies three stats that a sales organization should consider. Examples include the number of leads, the rep’s performance (the conversion rate), and the mix of the deals. 

The combination of deals refers to the source of your opportunities for your pipeline. They should come from three places-the accounting management team, the marketing department, and partners.

You need to know how you receive leads.  It’ll show you whether you should put more effort into your customer base, business partners, or accounting. Also, you can increase your sales cadence and sales revenue growth by narrowing your focus on what you can influence.

Sales productivity metrics are related to sales activities. They measure the rate at which your sellers reach their revenue goals. High productivity means that your salespeople take less time to achieve their quota. Here are some examples.

sales productivity metrics

Lead generation metrics – Prospecting is a sales cycle activity that Vantage Point Performance and others identified as essential in their study. Weak prospecting leads to an empty sales pipeline and a drop in revenue. Use the following lead generation numbers to see how well your sellers prospect.

lead generation metrics

What are the 5 most important metrics for SaaS companies?

SaaS companies have five key metrics they need to monitor, as well. Some examples include:

1. Annual recurring revenue (ARR)

ARR is an indicator of the revenue you receive from subscribers who have a 12-month agreement with your business. It’s a helpful metric because it shows sales efforts you should repeat or improve to boost revenue. 

ARR value

2. Monthly recurring revenue (MRR)

MRR calculates the expected revenue from your customers. There are two ways of measuring it. 

MRR value

You can use a sales dashboard to calculate the metrics.

3. Churn rates

It measures the loss in contracts, bookings, customers, MRR, contract value, etc. Here are some examples of how to calculate churn rates.

Customer churn rate (also called customer defection/customer turnover/customer attrition) is the loss of customers. 

Formula

customer churn rate

An increase in your churn rate means that you need to evaluate your product or service.

Revenue churn is the loss of income over a period, and you can calculate it using the customer churn formula. However, you need to pick a starting point and remove all the income you earned during that time.

E.g., 2021 third quarter revenue $50,000

        2021 fourth quarter revenue $ 35,000

Revenue churn is 30% ($50,000-$35,000)/50,000

Recurring revenue (ARR//MRR) is ideal if you’re offering different products or services. It measures the loss of income from clients who canceled or downgraded over a period.

E.g., Company had 20 customers paying $100 each in March and 15 paying the same amount in April.

Revenue churn is 20 x $100 (March)= 200

                            15 x $100 (April)= $150

                             $200-$150=$50/$200

                             Churn is 25%

4. Customer Life Value (CLV)

The SaaS metric gives you the total revenue after subtracting expenses per customer. How much income will you obtain from a subscriber minus the costs of acquiring them? Typically, the customer acquisition costs should be less than the revenue you’ll receive from them.

5. Renewal rate/customer renewal rate/customer retention rate

It’s the number of customers that continue their relationship with your business (such as subscriptions and memberships). It tells you about your ability to grow long-term relationships with your buyers.

There are two ways of measuring the renewal rate.

The Customer approach considers the number of customers who renewed their contracts vs. those who must renew their agreements.

Formula:

customer renewal rate

The Revenue method measures the customer renewal rate by dividing the actual income by the potential income to be earned from clients.

Formula:

customer renewal rate

How to measure sales metrics

We stressed that sales managers should spend a lot of energy on activity metrics to achieve sales objectives and business results. 

Conversion rate

Conversion rate is a crucial sales metric because you can calculate the percentage of potential customers that have become buyers. It reveals the type of leads and performance of individual sellers, teams, and marketing. From this, you can determine whether your lead generation activities are practical.

Formula

conversion rate

Tracking the conversion rate helps you align the marketing and sales teams to improve lead quality. Reps can focus on the right customers for your business.

Win rate

Win rate measures the percentage of quoted deals that your sales reps have converted into sales.  Is your sales force effective in turning proposals into sales? The metric allows you to assess each salesperson’s progress. 

You can also determine future sales leads by calculating the win rate metric to reach your targets.

Formula

win rate

Sales metric tools

sales metric tools

The right tools can help you collect, organize, analyze, and share data with relevant stakeholders. Check out the following platforms you can use to visualize and understand sales data.

CRM system

A customer relationship management platform organizes all your business data and activities as you engage with your customers. 

Automation tools

Automation apps are marketing tools that offer you insights into the sales pipeline leads. You can monitor the sales opportunities as they move through the pipeline. As a result, you can evaluate sales activities and performance.

Data dashboard

A sales dashboard brings all the critical sales metrics together on one platform. It collects data from separate sources and provides you with the latest updates. You can visualize, analyze, and distribute the data as reports. 

Examples of sales metrics you can measure and track using a data dashboard include:

Win rate: The percentage of deals you won or lost.

Demo-to-close ratio: It’s the number of presented demos divided by the number of won deals.

Average deal size: Its total sales divided by the number of closed deals (monthly or yearly).

Churn rate: It measures the percentage of buyers who discontinue contracts or cancel subscriptions. Chun rate tells you whether you can retain customers.

Revenue by product: How much each product has generated revenue.

Customer retention rate: It’s the number of loyal customers.

Customer acquisition costs (CAC):  It’s what you have spent on marketing and sales activities vs. the revenue from acquired customers.

Reports

Reports summarize the performance of each salesperson and marketing department. They should show you information about what sellers have achieved, their success, and their training needs.  

Sales report templates can help your reps track their progress and be accountable for their activities.

Final Thoughts

What are the best sales KPIs? The key sales metrics to track are those that your business can influence. According to the research we discussed, sales leaders monitor too many numbers. Because of this, they waste time and resources on uncontrollable sales data points. 

Instead, you should chase activity metrics because they show each rep’s performance, strengths, and weaknesses. You can directly manage them. Once you understand this data, you can design sales coaching and training programs to address the weakest links.  

Business results and objectives will increase when your sales force improves at every sales process stage. Your company can achieve its total revenue targets. Focus on what your salespeople can control and use a sales dashboard to monitor your primary metrics.

Fast-track your sales strategy to crush sales with these 4 tips

What would you do if you could stumble on a sales strategy that can rock your sales exponentially? I believe you’d waste no time grabbing the opportunity to use the sales plan to crush your revenue. You’ll discover a super easy sales strategy with a few sales metrics to boost your sales with little effort in this master guide. Read on to learn more about how your business can turn things around to maximize profits.

What is a sales strategy?

Before we can explore the definition, check out what the following three people have to say about a sales strategy.

1. @BowTiedFellow.btc

“At the recommendation of @BowTiedBull, I started a remote job in SaaS sales back in October. Within three months, I am already a top performer and well on track for moving up.

Aside from @BowTiedSalesGuy, how did I do it? By incorporating sales strategy from best in the game.”

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2. ???Δ?????.???

@thetitanborn

“Another thing @DecentarLabs has done is add a list of celebrities they hope to bring to the project.

This is a very smart sales strategy called “stacking.”

You attract attention, then build value.

Keep adding on top of that, and the audience comes.

Master this strategy!”

3.  IFundWomen

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Did you notice that each individual or organization has a sales strategy to increase revenue? BowTiedFellow.btc. became a top sales performer due to a proven and tested sales approach. And Titanborn talks of stacking as a sales method for DecentarLabs. 

IFundWomen understands sales strategy as providing value to your existing and potential customers. 

These three examples show that every business or salesperson should have a specific method to crush sales. What is a sales strategy, then? 

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Every business must have a clear plan to boost revenue and profits. Your sales approach shows how you can attract, retain, and provide value to your customers. 

Some people also talk about a marketing strategy. Is it the same as a sales strategy?

A marketing strategy involves your entire marketing activities about your product/service and helps you stay ahead of your rivals. The marketing mix includes the 7Ps (price, product, promotion, place, physical proof, process, and people).

A sales approach is a specific plan to increase sales by winning, retaining, and building customer relationships.

You may also want to know the meaning of a B2B sales strategy. It’s finding effective ways of increasing sales from business to business.

In this guide, we’ll dig into several sales strategies to rock your sales with less time. But, do you need a sales strategy?

Why is a sales strategy important?

It’s a blueprint for sales success

“The sales strategy is a blueprint for success in developing sales,” says HBS. Think of someone who wants to sprint 100 meters. They need two things to achieve their goal; speed and direction. 

Similarly, your business needs a sales plan to channel everyone’s efforts towards one goal: hitting the numbers. Every employee will know the company’s direction and how it wants to get there.

Without a sales strategy, your business can’t grow. And HBS says, “not all roads lead to success.”

Fixes falling sales

A sales strategy is necessary to deal with declining revenue. Sluggish sales show that your business needs a reboot. 

Creates a unified purpose

A sales plan can synchronize your sales teams’ activities to have one objective. Research says, “Companies with aligned sales and marketing teams generated 208% more revenue from marketing,” says Leadg2.

Realizes the start-up’s goals

A sales strategy enables the founder(s) or investors to achieve their dreams of financial success. 

Facilitates new product launches

A sales approach is essential when you introduce new products.  Recent stats favor companies that launch products in line with consumers’ needs. 

Financeonline says, “56% of consumers prefer to buy from companies that consistently release new products and services based on their needs and new technology.”

Makes your business competitive

A sales strategy is a must to provide products/services that are better than your competitors.

Breaks into new markets

Your company can’t break into new markets without a sales strategy. Whether you want to expand into global markets or change from a solopreneur to a corporation, you need a sales strategy.

A sales plan should be a response to the challenges your business experiences. Continue reading to discover how you can boost your sales.

4 Super Easy Sales Strategy Tips To Rock Your Sales

Simon Severino is the Founder & CEO of Strategy Sprints. He has over 18 years of experience coaching entrepreneurs to crush sales with three simple sales strategies. Simon outlines the principles on “How to Double Your Sales in 90 Days or Less” in the Smallstarter Business Podcast hosted by John-Paul Iwuoha. 

A sales strategy is a sprint, not a marathon. It means that you should have small, daily activities, plans, or changes to boost your sales. Strategy Sprints is about performing a few crucial tasks one at a time, systemically. 

Doing too many things or chasing countless sales metrics or goals can limit your success. That’s why many companies or sales reps fail to achieve their quota. So, how do you launch sales sprints to double your sales in a short time?

Here’s the thing.

1. Create a workflow of your daily schedule

One observation by Strategy Sprints is that many business owners are in the weeds.  Too much work but zero sales results. These entrepreneurs work in the business rather than working on the company most of the time. 

Are you knee-deep into delivering projects, products, or services? You’re working in the business because your plate is full of too many things.  As a result, you lack time to focus on what matters-improving your primary KPIs and systems.

To get out of the weeds, you should list all your daily activities to create a schedule. They may include cold emails, scheduled meetings, spending time with family or friends, going to the gym, etc. 

Next, ask yourself this question: of all the things you did today, which tasks can you delegate or give up to free up more time? 

If you pack your daily schedule with too many non-essential activities, you won’t have time to hone your sales strategy. Your business is taking too much from you, and you’ve become your bottleneck in sales growth. 

Now you are left with the few critical tasks on your daily plan that helps you improve sales, marketing, and operational systems and numbers. Use the form below to diagnose your challenges and build a workflow.

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You can use an app to create a daily schedule for your tasks.

2. Increase the frequency of your sales by 25%

Frequency refers to the length of time it takes your potential customers to move from awareness to closing. Every prospect is a potential customer. For example, if you’re at the top of the funnel, aim at raising your leads by 25%. That’s because you need to overfill your sales pipeline with qualified prospects to have enough scheduled meetings or product demos.

 Here are practical ways to qualify prospects.

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Let’s say you were successful in winning a sale. Use upselling to increase your revenue by encouraging your existing customer to buy other pricey products. 

Check out the following upselling tactics.

Offer your customers a discount: Reduced prices can motivate your buyers to upgrade or subscribe to a premium service, purchase more of your products, etc. 

Make your offer urgent: It can persuade customers to buy when you create a sense of urgency. For example, you can have a special offer on events, such as Black Friday, Easter, X-mass, and so on. 

Offer the right upsell: You can request your buyers to upgrade to the latest version of your product/service. Or ask customers to protect their product by extending a warranty. Another option is letting them customize the offer at a price.

Continue upselling: Your website should have upsells at the right places. Examples include product and checkout pages. Also, consider upselling when your clients achieve a specific milestone. 

It would also help to have a systematic and automated system for upselling. A CRM platform can help you with this process. 

3.  Increase the conversion rate by 25%

The conversion rate is a significant metric because it tells you how successfully you convert leads into buyers. Say a specific group of people are ready to buy. How many should you close? According to Strategy Sprints, you should aim to win 25% of the potential customers.

Your company can use the following sales techniques to raise the conversation rate.

Obtain the right leads and not leeches: These are people that your marketing department has identified as the right fit via marketing campaigns, surveys, customer feedback, etc.

Blend your offer with the guaranteed result: People want to see that your product can solve their pain points. Take this example by Strategy Sprints: “Double Your Sales in 90 Days or Less.” It’s the signature coaching program for the business and looks like an irresistible offer.  The company also says you can receive your money back if you fail to hit sales during that time.

Use video: Videos are so powerful that they can boost your conversion rate. A well-created video on your landing page or website can help connect with your business.

Strong CTAs: A call to action nudges the prospective customer to perform specific actions. You can place killer CTAs at strategic places in your content. See an example by HubSpot.

Hubspot CTA
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How many CTAs did you notice? One is immediately below the headline, another in the center, and yet another asking for your name. As a reader, you can’t help but end up clicking one of the CTAs.

4. Increase the price by 25%

The last sales strategy applies to a SaaS company. For this sales approach, you raise the price with every new user of your product by 5%. You continue increasing the cost until half of your clients say no. You’ve found the maximum price you can charge your buyers when this happens.

You may wonder what the logic behind this sales strategy is. Strategy Sprints explains that you need to lose half of the customers who’re not prepared to buy from you. It’s pointless to obtain high revenue from hundreds of subscribers without making reasonable profits.

Raising the price enables you to remain with the ideal buyer. However, you should have a solid case to support your price increments. That’s because the higher the product/service cost, the more persuasive you should be. 

Here are some sales tactics you can use to validate your offer.

  • Create authoritative content on a specific niche or industry to educate your potential customers about your products
  • Include social proof on your website, such as testimonials, proven product results, etc.

Here’s an excellent example of a landing page with testimonials.

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You might have realized that Strategy Sprints has convincing testimonials from business CEOs/Founders.  The company focuses on the primary decision-makers-the company directors. And when other CEOs see these case studies, they become persuaded to try Strategy Sprints.

In the same way, you can ask for feedback from people who’re happy about your service or product.  It instills a sense of trust and credibility about your offer. Because of this, you can price your products confidently to inject substantial cash flow into your business.

Final Thoughts

A sales strategy is a sales plan to win qualified prospects and retain and develop relationships for more upselling opportunities. We zeroed in on a sales approach to boost revenue by adopting sprints in four elements. The most critical numbers are increasing the frequency of sales by 25%, the conversion rate by 25%, and the price by the same percentage

These key sales metrics can lead to skyrocketing sales if you implement the suggested sales tactics. As a sales manager or company director, you need to spend more time working on the business for the sales strategy to bear results.